ORGANIZATION OF RESEARCH

The Department of Animal Biology has 2 Research Units: The Research Unit of Animal Physiology and Phytopharmacology (RUPHYPHA) and the Research Unit of Applied Biology and Ecology (URBEA).

1- Research Unit of Animal Physiology and Phytopharmacology (URPHYPHA):

Head: Professor Nguelefack Télesphore Benoît

The main objective of the Animal Physiology and Phytopharmacology Research Unit is to enhance Cameroonian biodiversity and improve the primary health care of local populations by rationalizing the use of medicinal plants. To this end, it evaluates the pharmacological properties and toxicity of extracts of medicinal plants of Cameroonian flora. In partnership with chemists, it is looking for new molecules with more interesting pharmacological activities and without as many side effects as possible.

RUPHYPHA focuses its work mainly on the study of noncommunicable diseases. As a result, the main axes of research are as follows:

- → Cardiovascular and Metabolic Diseases: The following teachers are involved in this axis: Pr. Ngnokam Wansi Sylvie Léa, Pr. Nguelefack-Mbuyo Pami Elvine, Dr. Poualeu Kamani Sylviane, and Pr. Nguéléfack Télesphore Benoît:
- → Nervous and immune systems: Pr. Nguelefack Télesphore Benoît, Pr. Mbiantcha Marius, and Pr. Ngoupaye Temkou Gwladys and Dr Wandji Bibiane Aimée are envolved in this research axis:
- → Reproductive system: actively envolved in this axis are Pr. Watcho Pierre, Pr. Mvondo Marie Alfrede, and Pr. Ngadjui Esther;
- → Digestive system: The teachers concerned are: Pr. Ateufack Gilbert, Pr. Ngnokam Wansi Sylvie Léa, Pr. Watcho Pierre, Dr. Nchouwet Moise Legentil, and Pr. Nguelefack Télesphore Benoît.

Research Unit of Applied Biology and Ecology (RUABE):

Head; Professor Mayaka Bileng Théodore

The Applied Biology and Ecology Research Unit brings together two major disciplinary fields, namely Animal Parasitology and Ecology. The general objective of the Unit is to apprehend in real time, the state of the various infectious pathologies in humans as well as in wild, domestic or industrial animals and tries to provide effective solutions. On the other hand, it assesses the state of our animal biodiversity and seeks effective methods of protection and management.

Research interest:

- → Pest control: Pr. Mpoame Mbida, Dr. Mbogning Tayo Gertrude, and Komtangi Marie Claire are the researchers concerned.
- → Parasites and Public Health. Pr. Khan Payne V. and Dr Tateng Ngouateu Aimé intervene in this axis.
- → Biodiversity valorisation is coordinated by Pr. Mpoamé Mbida.
- → Environmental toxicology. This research axis is mainly coordinated by Pr. Fai Asanga Bi Patricia, Dr. Ntangmo T. Honorine, and Dr. Ngameni T. Norbert.
- → Ecology and Conservation Biology has as its main actors Pr. Tamungang A. Simon, Pr. Mayaka Théodore, Dr. Taku Awa, and Dr. Mvo Denis Chuo.
- → The Malaria and Medical Entomology research axis is coordinated by Pr. Tchuinkam Timoléon, Dr. Tsila Henri Gabriel, Dr. Elanga N'Dille Emmanuel and Pr. Khan Payne V.
- → Cytogenetics is under the responsibility of Prof. Seino A. Richard.



UNIVERSITY OF DSCHANG FACULTY OF SCIENCE

DEPARTMENT OF ANIMAL BIOLOGY



Ideal training and research to secure the future, for universal well-being

Campus C, Technical Block, Door 328
P.O.Box 67 DSCHANG, CAMEROON

OBJECTIVES OF TRAINING

The Department of Animal Biology is one of the 7 Departments of the Faculty of Science of the University of Dschang. It was created in 1998, from the remnants of the Department of Life Sciences, with the aim of bringing the training of students as close as possible to the demands of the labour market.

The Department of Animal Biology has a dual objective:

- To provide young Cameroonians with fundamental and applied knowledge, and above all, appropriate skills in the field of Animal Biology.
- · Carry out cutting-edge research, for improvement of the quality and living conditions of the Cameroonian population, and the worldwide.

Through these two cardinal objectives, the Department of Animal Biology contributes to the socio-economic development of Cameroon, as well as to the promotion of scientific and technical research.

To carry out these noble tasks, the Department of Animal Biology has highly qualified teachers and researchers. Indeed, it has in its staff, 05 Professors, 10 Associate Professors, 08 Senior lecturers and 03 Assistant Lecturers

ADMISSION CONDITIONS

Students may be admitted into levels 1, 2 or 3 of the Bachelors degree program in Animal Biology under the following conditions:

- First year (L1): Scientific Baccalaureate (C and D), GCE Advanced Level in two science subjects including biology but excluding religion. Admission of holders of other scientific certificates is subject to a special file study based on the program to be followed by the candidate.
- Third year (L3): Students who have validated the 120 credits of levels 1 and 2 of Animal Biology or holders of a DIPES I of biological sciences.

- Admission to Masters I: BSc degree in Animal Biology.
- Admission to Masters II: The student must meet the following conditions:
- 1- Holder of a BSc degree in Animal Biology with an over-all average of at least 12/20.
- 2- Holder of a Master I in the field with an average of at least 12/20, a DIPES II (14/20) or a professional Master 2 in Animal Biology with an average of at least 14/20.
- 3- Most not have repeated during the Master's cycle and should not have repeated more than once in the Bachelors cycle.
- Admission into Doctorate/PhD: Holder of a Master II with at least 12/20 in the various specialties of the Department and fulfilling all the conditions for admission into Master II.

TRAINING AND DIPLOMA COURSES BACHELOR OF SCIENCE (BSc) IN ANIMAL BIOLOGY

Options: 1- Animal Physiology, 2- Zoology

MASTER OF SCIENCE (MSc)

Options: 1- Ecology and Wildlife management, 2 - Parasitology, 3- Animal Physiology and Pharmacology **DOCTORATE/PhD.**

Options: 1- Ecology and Wildlife Management, 2 - Parasitology, 3- Animal Physiology and Pharmacology

Opportunities for employment

- Structures managing Protected Areas and Parks,
- Laboratories for Medical Analyses,
- Medical delegates,
- The School for Water and Forest Management,
- Admission to the 2nd or 3rd year of FASA,
- National or international bodies especially those dealing with the Environment and/or Biodiversity Conservation,
- Educational training institutions,
- Schools of human and veterinary medicine,
- Basic research.

ADMINISTRATIVE ORGANIZATION OF THE DEPARTMENT

The Head of the Department: Pr. Nguelefack

Télesphore Benoît

Level Co-ordinators;

-Level I: Pr. Nguelefack Mbuyo Pami Elvine (Office room 01, Farm)

- Level II: Pr. Ateufack Gilbert (office room 3, Soweto)
- Level III: Dr. Ntangmo Tsafack Honorine (Office B2-2)
- Level IV: Pr. Mbiantcha Marius (Office room 3, Soweto)

Permanent Teachers of the Department by specialty: a- Ecology and Wildlife Management:

- 1- Pr. Tamungang Awafor Simon
- 2- Pr. Mayaka Bileng Theodore
- 3- Pr. Seino Akwanjoh Richard
- 4- Pr. Fai Asanga Bi Patricia
- 5- Dr. Taku Awa II
- 6- Dr. Ngameni Tchamadeu Norbert
- 7- Dr. Mvo Denis Chuo

b- Parasitology:

- 1- Pr. Mpoame Mbida
- 2- Pr. Khan Payne Vincent
- 3- Pr. Tchuinkam Timoléon
- 4- Dr. Ntangmo Tsafack Honorine
- 5- Mme Komtangi Marie Claire
- 6- Dr. Tsila Henri Gabriel
- 7- Dr. Mbogning Tayo Gertrude
- 8- Dr. Elanga N'Dille Emmanuel
- 9- Dr. Tateng Ngouateu Aimé

c- Animal Physiology-Pharmacology

- 1- Pr. Watcho Pierre
- 2- Pr. Nguelefack Télesphore Benoit
- 3- Pr. Ngnokam Youmsi Sylvie Léa
- 4- Pr. Ateufack Gilbert
- 5- Pr. Ngoupaye Temkou Gwladys
- 6- Pr. Mvondo Marie Alfrede
- 7- Pr. Mbiantcha Marius
- 8- Pr. Mbuyo Pami Elvine
- 9- Dr. Poualeu Kamani Sylviane10- Dr. Nchouwet Moïse Legentil